Gå til innhold

Mannen bak C og Unix er død

Anbefalte innlegg

Videoannonse
Annonse

Et eksempel på en mann som har hatt stor (positiv) innvirkning på industrien.

Er Unix utbredt blant mobile enheter?

Tja, kommer an på om du regner iPad, iPod (touch) og iPhone som utbredt...

Fra wikipedia:

Historically, BSD has been considered a branch of UNIX—"BSD UNIX", because it shared the initial codebase and design with the original AT&T UNIX operating system.

OS X/iOS er brancher av BSD. Dette betyr at disse operativsystemene faktisk er ekte unix; ikke kloner som linux.

Lenke til kommentar

http://slashdot.org/comments.pl?sid=2473586&cid=37700506

I started learning C on FreeBSD 2.2.8 when I was in the 8th grade. In 9th grade, the internet was still a much wilder place than it is today, and felt a lot friendlier and smaller. As such, I didn't really see anything wrong with emailing random "public figures" to ask them questions. Of course, some didn't respond, some were rude assholes (Linus, I'm looking at you...), but some were truly amazing. In the amazing category would be Dennis Ritchie and Ken Thompson, both of whom would answer my emails promptly and regularly. I corresponded with both of them for the better part of a year and a half, before doing things like getting a girl friend. Both Ken and Dennis were more than happy to hep me out with questions, give me advice and steer me in the right direction.

I wish I still had those emails but, alas, I don't. Of all the digital "property" I wish I had never lost, those emails are pretty much the only thing on the list. I don't know where I would be in life, or what I would be doing, if it weren't for the work they did and their guidance when I was younger. Dennis might be the first "famous" person that I've ever felt like the world was poorer in some way for losing.

RIP Dennis Ritchie

En stor mann på mange måter.

Lenke til kommentar